The Bander Series

(Sword & Sorcery Fantasy)

“A medieval Jack Reacher? Sign me up.”
—Bestselling author Mark Dawson

Bander’s appearance is deceiving. Judging from his hulking, battle-scarred body, you might think he was a merely brawling warrior, or even a gladiator. He stands nearly seven feet tall and weighs as much as a stag. But beneath the brawn is a keen mind that never stops solving mysteries.

Both have served him well during is long career as the Imperial Investigator in the capital city of Rundlun. But now Bander is retired — and spends his days wandering the countryside, hoping to enjoy the peace and quiet.

But it doesn’t quite work out that way.

In fact, wherever Bander goes, he finds trouble or trouble finds him. But if there’s one man who can stand up to trouble—of any kind, it’s Bander.


Three complete novels of wondrous sword & sorcery adventure filled with intrigue, betrayal, and high-octane action that will keep you turning pages long into the night.

Book 1: The Owl and the Dragon
When Bander arrives in the village of Hytwen, ragged and half dead after a savage attack on the road, all he wants is the aid of a healer and a new pair of boots. But he’s soon pressed into service by the wealthy lord of Hytwen to find a twelve-year-old girl who’s been abducted from the manor. Everyone suspects the neighboring village, and with the drums of war beating, time is running out.

Book 2: A Conspiracy of Shadows
Summoned by an old friend to help solve a brutal murder of a notable mage, Bander finds himself embroiled in a deadly conspiracy that threatens to destroy the Empire itself as well as everything Bander holds dear.

Book 3: In Terror’s Thrall
An unspeakable act of terror has shaken the Empire to its core, and no one is safe from the mysterious foe wielding the power to destroy an entire city. Bander must overcome defeat to stand up to these dark forces. But this time he’s not alone. A ragtag fellowship of old friends, criminals, and renegades has joined Bander to battle the shadowy enemies intent on destroying the Empire of Harion and its Mage Guild. But will they be too late?


Books 4-6 of The Bander Adventures

Book 4: Revenge of the Battle Mage
With the Empire on the brink of chaos, the Mage Guild effectively dissolved, and its mages imprisoned, a new threat rises, and Bander’s fellowship is tested one final time. A host of battle mages gird themselves for a savage attack against Bander and his fellowship.

Book 5: The Temple of Fate
After Bander rescues a traveling merchant from bandits, he is rewarded with a battered silver amulet in the shape of a crescent moon. Bander soon discovers that the amulet clearly possesses unique powers—powers which would allow someone to unlock the powerful magic of the Temple of Fate and travel back in time… The someone Bander has in mind is his friend Valthar, an eccentric, feeble mage who claims he is from the distant past and has been trying to return home for decades. He needs Bander’s help. And he’s running out of time.

Book 6: The Beast at the Edge of Forever.
NEVER BEFORE PUBLISHED! Bander faces his most perilous adventure yet. Legendary heroes? CHECK. Cranky dwarves? CHECK. Ancient trap-filled delvings? CHECK. An umbral dragon? CHECK.

(A Bander Novella)

While wandering in the rugged far northeast corner of the Empire, Bander encounters intrigue and murder in a remote mining village.